top of page

A Place in the Past

Looking back over the past couple years I realize that I have been surrounded with such talent to fully acknowledge it would be overwhelming. I have made the acquaintance of Inkers and Artists that have worked for the big two, Image, et. al. One thing I have learned is that comics are alive and well in the hearts of people that love them. The industry itself is dying a slow and horrible death. I am sure that there will be a million opinions for and against on that statement. We creators and lovers are very opinionated. Let me explain.

The big boys are doing as best they can to revamp their image and draw new talent their way as witnessed when I received a call to arms from them to try out for their new crew. I took a look at the workshops and process to join the team and knew that I had neither the time or energy to commit fully to the task. I have been committed on different fronts and have thrown my lot in with the small Indies and other strange wanderers in the industry. While searching through the underground forums and back alleys I have come across some really interesting comics that are artsy, edgy, and breaking the traditional superhero mold.

Some of us outsiders that met working on Wonderfunders decided to band together to do some full comics and try to work out a creation strategy that took into account the overwhelming investment that producing a single comic took. It has been an interesting road so far and the road can be rocky at times. The commitment to the journey has not changed.

I think the next couple years are going to show the rise of the small town Indies much like the Alternative movement of the 90's. There will be that one big break and the scene is going to blow itself out of proportion. Welcome to the new front line. Welcome to the new world of the fringe comic.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page